Sunday, September 15, 2013

Hello,

      I have been here for about two weeks and I am starting to feel settled in.  Although I am still busy all the time, I am starting to get into a daily routine.  As I mentioned last time my Monday, Wednesday, Friday classes it is only me and another girl.  Well my Tuesdays and Thursday classes are much better.  I am taking a Greek class, which all the study abroad students are in it so I pretty much know everybody! Which is awesome because it is going to be a difficult class so it will be great that we can all study together!! Then I am taking a math class which so far is going good.  Then my other class is Political Organization.  This class is very interesting.  I get to hear the Greek views on politics and how they see their economic.  It is especially important because Greece doesn't have a very stable economy right now and they are going through a hardship so I learn why they think they are going through that and what they think needs to change.  It is very interesting.  The first day they were having a debate and it started out in English and then half way through the class they were all speaking in Greek.  I sat there for about 45 minutes having no clue what they were saying!!!  But then after class I told my professor that I don't speak Greek and so the next class period went very well!
      Lately I have been working out a lot and its very fun.  Since we walk everywhere here I need to be in shape otherwise I get tired easily.  So lately my friends and I have been going to the gym and swimming in the Olympic size pool!  SO big! But it is great because the other day I swam in the same lane Michael Phelps swam in... lane 6.  Although it was the practice pool for the Olympics, it is still cool to say that! Some of my friends and I are thinking about running the Athens marathon in November.  Although we haven't signed up yet, we have been working out and trying to train for it.  The marathon in Athens was one of the first marathons ever invented so it would be very cool to take part of that. 
       On Saturday the 14th, the whole group of study abroad students went on an excursion to the island called Hydra.  We took a ferry to that island and it took about 2 hours on the boat to get there.  We slept on the way there and listened to music and relaxed! When we arrived to Hydra, the view is breathtaking.  It is so surreal and beautiful.  We arrived and saw donkeys everywhere because there are no cars on the island.  We could take a donkey and tour the city but we didn't do that.  Although I wanted to!  Right away when we got there the whole group went to a beach for about an hour because we had to meet for lunch at 2.  The water is crystal clear and very rocky.  The color of the water is a clear blue and turquoise.  I tried adding a photo but it wont let me.  If you are my Facebook friend, I uploaded many photos of Hydra.  My friend has a go pro camera, and we took many photos underwater and I cannot wait to see what they look like!!  Then we went to lunch and it was great!! They  brought bread out, a salad, and friend spinach right away.  It was delicious!! Then we had a few different options for what we wanted as our main course meal.  I had Moussaka.  That is like a lasagna with eggplant and cheese and a breading around it.  It was delicious!  Then they gave us watermelon for dessert.  Of course there were seed in the watermelon and so we had a pile of them at our table and we were flicking them across to the other table, acting like little kids.  But it was very funny and we all got a good laugh out of it.  After lunch me and some girls went back to the beach to enjoy the sun and some cliff jumping!  Very fun but difficult to climb the rocks because there wasn't a clear path to climb.  Very scary!  I almost fell so I stopped climbing and jumped from where I was at.  Don't worry I am safe!  Nothing happened to me :) We also got some videos of that on the go pro!  After the beach we started walking back into town at like 7 because we were leaving at 9.  We sat down and had some crepes.  I had a crepe with chocolate ice cream, bananas, and biscuit.  Very delicious.  We did a little shopping but I didn't get anything.  We got on the ferry and didn't get back home until about midnight.  I got in the shower and went straight to bed.  It was a very long but beautiful, enjoyable day in Hydra.  I didn't want to leave.  Now today, I am planning on relaxing all day and doing some homework!!

xoxo Kayla

Monday, September 9, 2013

Making my way

Yai sas (ya-sauce) Hello All-

As you can tell I am starting to pick up the language, which is very helpful.  The last couple days have been really busy.  On Thursday we got to tour our college and have orientation.  It was a very long day.  I felt like it was Freshman orientation all over again.  I had to sit through TOO many speeches about the school.  It was helpful but very long and tiring.  Many important people talked and gave welcoming speeches which made us feel special and comfortable coming to the school.  We got a tour of the school and a cook out for lunch outside.  As I walked up to get lunch, I am starving, so I was expecting a lot of food and a full course meal.  Anyways, I walked outside to where everyone was standing and went to the food and I saw these bread things filled with this green stuff and it looked nasty!  But because I was so hungry I was going to eat anything that they had.  Anyways even though it looked nasty, it tasted really good.  I ended up finding out it was spinach! Which, I never thought I would eat, but I did.  So I learned that I like that.  Then I was thirsty so I went to get a pop and it took like 20 mins!  Then we were playing ice breaker games and got to know everyone.  There is about 50 study abroad students- which is the most that they have EVER had.  Which is awesome and exciting! :)  We all live in the apartments and so I have gotten to know so many great people, and they're all so nice and fun to be around.  I finally started to get my room organized, I had to buy more hangers to hang some clothes up and I put a bunch of pictures on my wall, which makes it feel more homey!  We also bought some candles for our apartment and made it feel more girly.  Howver, on Friday we got to take a tour of our neighborhood which is called Aghia Paraskevi and both of our RA's (residential assistant), Litsa and Illias, showed us where good places are to eat, pharmacies, shops, STARBUCKS!!!, etc.  They showed us everything that we would need to go to look for stuff.  Our RA's are awesome and very helpful!  They give us great tips for everything.  After our neighborhood tour we took a bus to downtown Athens which tour guides were there to show us around downtown.  We got a glimpse of the Acropolis, but I want to go back there to watch the sunset because it lights up at night and I think that will be breathtaking.  Also, we walked through the National Garden, saw the Ruins, went through a gorgeous neighborhood, and many many more sites.  As I was walking down the streets there was this coconut stands and I got like a stick of coconut with chocolate around it and it was delicious, especially for only 1 euro! Anyways, I cant wait to go back downtown Athens and explore more!  Friday night we then went to a bar club with Melina.  Melina is from this area and she is so much fun!  She showed us a good time.  However, on the way to this bar our taxi drive got lost and we were only supposed to pay about 12 euros but ended up paying 16.  We definitely got ripped off so we reported the drive lol.  But on the way home we took a taxi too and so when we arrived at our apartment we were expecting to only pay about 12.  However from midnight to 5 am the price doubles!!  So we didn't know that and when we found the price out we complained a little.  But now we know not to take a taxi from midnight to 5am! Then on Saturday we hung out all day, finally slept it, then at night we went to a huge beach party.  It was the last beach party of the year because summer is coming to an end for them... But to me its still summer because the weather is still gorgeous!  Anyways, the beach party had like 1500 people there, it was a huge DJ and a lot of fun.  None of the Greeks like to dance, so us Americans stood out because we all were dancing and having a great time!!  I am so glad we went.  I left at like 4am and the party was still bumpin!  And some of my friends wanted to stay until 5 am because the taxis are cheaper then!  Needless to say the Greeks party hard and all night long!!! haha Finally, on Sunday I got to relax on a beach all day and take in the gorgeous weather.  We went swimming and the water wasn't cold so I sat on the beach with my legs in the water and it couldn't have been any more perfect.  We took the trains to the beach so it only costed us 2.80 euros which is WAY better than taking a taxi!  We got a little lost on the way to the beach so it took about two hours to get there but on the way home we knew what we were doing.  And we went in a group of 13 so it was nice that we could all figure the trains out together.  Today I started classes.  I only have one class on Monday, Wednesday, and Fridays from 11-11:50am.  Which is great!  It was a classical roman literature class.  So I showed up like 20 minutes early to figure out where my classes were and be prepared and I was like the only one waiting early for my class.  Which is different because in America everyone shows up reallllyy early on the first couple days.  Anyways, I was waiting and it was like 11am and my professor walks into the room so I followed.  In my class it is me and one other student named Sarah.  She is from California but now lives in Greece.  Which is good because she speaks English.  Then I found out my professor is blind.  So she has her fingers over her brailed paper while she is speaking.  So I think this class will definitely be an experience for me, especially with this professor.  Anyways, I am looking forward to seeing how my other 3 classes go tomorrow.  Then after class today I went to the farmers market and bought a pineapple!  Yummy.  I cant wait to eat it.  Then I was trying to find a place to exchange my American money but I haven't been able to find a place so I am going to have to ask  Litsa and Illias where I can do that.  I hope I don't have to go to the airport lol. Anyways, Greece is awesome and I am having so much fun!  I miss you all. Sagapo poli (I love you so much)!

xoxo Kayla

Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Welcome to Athens!

Well, I made it to Greece safely and I am having so much fun! When I arrived in London it took me about 3 hours to get through customs and then to the correct terminal.  It was crazy and busy.  I was tired and exhausted because I didn't sleep much on the plane but on my way to Athens I slept the whole plane ride! Tonight is my 2nd night staying in my apartment with 3 other girls.  The girls are awesome and we get along great!! I am staying in the apartments that the Olympians stayed in for the Olympics in 2004.  (my apartment even has heated floors)!!!! So blessed.  However, I ordered sheets so they should've been here when I got here but I have not received them yet. So tonight I will not have sheets, again.  But that is ok.  Good thing I brought my pillow pet!  I also have AC!  Also, I cannot throw any toilet paper down the toilet... we have to throw it in the garbage.The weather is great here- its been about mid 80s.  We went out to eat last night for dinner and had a pork sandwich, a salad, and a beer and it only was 5 euros! which is like $6.50.  I thought it was pretty cheap.  But the food was great! Then we went out to the bars last night, which was super fun and relaxing.  We became friends with a bartender already.  We tried ouzo, which is like their main alcohol... its like how Mexico loves their tequila. Then today I slept until 3pm- the jet lag got to me.  I got up and our apartment place served us dinner at 5:30 (which is technically a late lunch for the Greeks) but it was very good.  Then we walked around town, found some awesome stores- which I cant wait to check out! (they were closed by 7pm!!) We also found a supermarket and bought some food for the apartment!  Something very interesting and inconvenient is that on the sidewalks here there are trees in the middle of the side walk and bushes like pushing you off so you almost have to walk on the streets because there's like no room to walk on the side walks.  The drivers here are crazy too!  Drive super fast and don't pay attention to pedestrians.  It's definitely cars first.  Also, all the cars that I have seen here are super small.  They all look like smart cars! Well tomorrow I have to be up in the lobby by 8:30am because we have tours and meetings about school tomorrow! And it is 2am now so I will be so tired in the morning.  But I am having so much fun and I cant wait to see what else is in store for the experience :)
God Bless!

xoxo Kayla

Monday, September 2, 2013

Take off

Today embarks my journey to Greece.  It was hard to say bye to all my friends and family that I am leaving back at home.  I am so blessed to be surrounded by such loving people.  However, I am off on a new adventure and couldn't be more excited to start my next chapter in life.  I am sitting at the Dallas, Texas airport waiting for my next flight to go to London.  I will have a 4 hour layover there and then I will take off on another plane to Greece! Please pray for safe travels for me.  It will be about a 24 hour travel time.  I will be so exhausted by the time I arrive in Greece.  I am so blessed to be going on this journey and I am hoping to have the time of my life over there!  My mom, Aunt Sue, Aunt Cathy, and Grandma Diane will be coming to visit me on October 3rd and I will be able to spend 9 days with them.  It will be a great taste of home when they come because I am sure I will be missing home by then.  Anyone can contact me through social media or via email. 

God Bless.

xoxo Kayla