Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Welcome to Athens!

Well, I made it to Greece safely and I am having so much fun! When I arrived in London it took me about 3 hours to get through customs and then to the correct terminal.  It was crazy and busy.  I was tired and exhausted because I didn't sleep much on the plane but on my way to Athens I slept the whole plane ride! Tonight is my 2nd night staying in my apartment with 3 other girls.  The girls are awesome and we get along great!! I am staying in the apartments that the Olympians stayed in for the Olympics in 2004.  (my apartment even has heated floors)!!!! So blessed.  However, I ordered sheets so they should've been here when I got here but I have not received them yet. So tonight I will not have sheets, again.  But that is ok.  Good thing I brought my pillow pet!  I also have AC!  Also, I cannot throw any toilet paper down the toilet... we have to throw it in the garbage.The weather is great here- its been about mid 80s.  We went out to eat last night for dinner and had a pork sandwich, a salad, and a beer and it only was 5 euros! which is like $6.50.  I thought it was pretty cheap.  But the food was great! Then we went out to the bars last night, which was super fun and relaxing.  We became friends with a bartender already.  We tried ouzo, which is like their main alcohol... its like how Mexico loves their tequila. Then today I slept until 3pm- the jet lag got to me.  I got up and our apartment place served us dinner at 5:30 (which is technically a late lunch for the Greeks) but it was very good.  Then we walked around town, found some awesome stores- which I cant wait to check out! (they were closed by 7pm!!) We also found a supermarket and bought some food for the apartment!  Something very interesting and inconvenient is that on the sidewalks here there are trees in the middle of the side walk and bushes like pushing you off so you almost have to walk on the streets because there's like no room to walk on the side walks.  The drivers here are crazy too!  Drive super fast and don't pay attention to pedestrians.  It's definitely cars first.  Also, all the cars that I have seen here are super small.  They all look like smart cars! Well tomorrow I have to be up in the lobby by 8:30am because we have tours and meetings about school tomorrow! And it is 2am now so I will be so tired in the morning.  But I am having so much fun and I cant wait to see what else is in store for the experience :)
God Bless!

xoxo Kayla

1 comment:

  1. WOW KAYLA! Greece Sounds amazing already!! Your place sounds really nice! I mean... heated floors and AC!! must be rough ;) haha I look forward to reading about your experiences in Greece! It sounds like your have a good time already!! I cant wait to hear more and ask you questions about everything!! haha
    Be safe! Love you,

    ReeRee

    ReplyDelete